top of page
Creative Design

PRODUCT MANAGEMENT INNOVATION

They talk about product... they talk about innovation... let's make it practical !

Hi, I'm Dror. I am passionate about Product Management in so many aspects. On my day to day, I am product group director and responsible for few innovative products, and in this blog, I am trying to tackle the product management space, combining my second nature - innovation & AI, and share with you my dilemmas and experience. Trying to make it 'down-to-earth' or in other words, make it Practical for you.
And that's why this is the blog's name :-)

Search
  • Writer's pictureDror Jacoby

7 Learning enablers for a product manager

Updated: Dec 19, 2018

Product manager should be a curious creature.

Always strive to ask and learn new things.

In our endless run, there is no finish line for too much learning.

Personally, I keep learning everyday. Sometimes, you have less time, in others you have mote. That's why I tries to collect here few habits that you should adopt. Something for sure fit you or your time limit.


1. Blogs

Hmmm, if you read it here, you didn't really think I will put it last, right? :-)

I like to follow bloggers that I hear about or bump into when I google something I am trying to figure.


2. Pocket

Use the Pocket app (desktop & mobile) to save the things you want to read later. That way, when you have some little time, you can always open the Pocket and find exactly what you like to read (cause you saved it, hahahah). I use it quite often, I bumped into an article, web or blog, or any video, and if I don't have the exact time, I save it that way for later.


3. Podcasts

One of the useful ways to spend your commute time. If you don't take meetings from car (god it happens to me too many times), that's one of the best - also very good for flight time. Use your favorite podcast app (I use Google Podcast) and follow few podcasts. There are tons, and on every subject you can think of. I follow few, depends on the mood, you hit the play. Some examples about product: Masters of scale, This is Product Management, The product podcast, How I built this, Muzzarela and few others. I also use it to learn about other non-product issues (yeah, I have a life beyond hahaha).


4. E-books and audio versions

Very convenient way, I use kindle and another app, download my favorites and finds time to progress. I always read few in parallel, depends on the mood at the exact minute


5. Meetups

Use the Meetup app, to find your local and most convenient community and follow it. You will always gain something from the meeting, even if you think you know the topic well. Perhaps it will sharpen something, or you might meet in the networking time someone, or you might be able to contribute to the community from your experience. Win win.

I follow few groups, two of my favorites are Product Tank TLV and Product Roundtable. The last is unique format, no lectures. Group of small experienced PMs meet and in turns, share dilemma or challenge and get good advises from people in same domain. I liked the format very much and join those meeting to share and to contribute.


7. Online courses

So many words have been spend on this and still - Coursera, Safari, HBR, YouTube/Vimeo and so many more, are available anywhere/whenever you want. You feel you need you deepen your learning on something? Don't wait!

I will elaborate a bit more on diff post about AWS - stay tuned.


Keep learning!

Dror



Home: Blog2
bottom of page