top of page
Creative Design

PRODUCT MANAGEMENT INNOVATION

They talk about product... they talk about innovation... let's make it practical !

Hi, I'm Dror. I am passionate about Product Management in so many aspects. On my day to day, I am product group director and responsible for few innovative products, and in this blog, I am trying to tackle the product management space, combining my second nature - innovation & AI, and share with you my dilemmas and experience. Trying to make it 'down-to-earth' or in other words, make it Practical for you.
And that's why this is the blog's name :-)

Search
  • Writer's pictureDror Jacoby

4 elements for a successful Product Unboxing event

Updated: Dec 27, 2018

On previous post, 1 tip to stun your onboarded customer, I shared with you my idea about product unboxing concept (read it first if you haven't done it).

I promised to share how to make it successful, so here it goes.

I studied a lot what makes a consumer goods unboxing successful clip, and from the other side of the equation- what retailers/manufacturers are doing to make a good unboxing experience.

And my real challenge was how to translate a physical unboxing experience of consumer goods to a SW unboxing experience in large enterprise organization. Challenge!


I summarized it into 4 elements:


1. Surprise

There must be an element of surprise in the unboxing experience. Something that your audience didn't expect. Extra features, module for trial, ready-made dashboard - you name it . Something that they would not expect to have on that time or make the event in a way they would not expect from your company.


2. Delight

Add free users, give trial modules they wouldn't expect, add freebies to the event, refreshments, any of the above and more. Make sure to find your way to do the 'extra mile'.


3. Wow

The wow effect is important to stun them. First - everything should work smoothly, from the product to the line up of the event. Add physical element to the unboxing experience, we designed together with our marketing a real cool box, that you could really unbox the product (and I remind you, it's a SW...). Add gamification element to the event - it will boost the energy in the room!


4. Build-up

Create a build up for the event. The live event itself is not the start of the unboxing, it should really start from few weeks back. Create teasers for the audience, raise the expectation bar, make sure they feel something different in the air is coming. Email teasers, snippets from the app, short clip, anything works.


Wow your customers, let me know for any questions!


Dror

Home: Blog2
bottom of page