top of page
Creative Design

PRODUCT MANAGEMENT INNOVATION

They talk about product... they talk about innovation... let's make it practical !

Hi, I'm Dror. I am passionate about Product Management in so many aspects. On my day to day, I am product group director and responsible for few innovative products, and in this blog, I am trying to tackle the product management space, combining my second nature - innovation & AI, and share with you my dilemmas and experience. Trying to make it 'down-to-earth' or in other words, make it Practical for you.
And that's why this is the blog's name :-)

Search
  • Writer's pictureDror Jacoby

3 influencers for Product Excellence

Updated: Dec 30, 2018

I always strive for excellence, and also for being productive. I hate to do same mistake twice and try to learn from everything I do. Or as the Dalai Lama said once: When you lose, don't lose the lesson.

In my journey to infuse learning, innovation and product I bumped into company that really helped me to translate my vision of becoming a learning product organization, into reality.

Shamaym (that's company name) implements a unique debrief-based learning model, to bridge team’s gap of learn and improve from the daily work. The model is based on the Israeli Air Force debriefing methodology.

Shamaym helped me to structure a robust learning culture with 3 tips:


#1 - Implement a self learning model

Personal responsibility for actions, mistakes AND learning.


#2 - Culture of learning

It's ok to to make a mistake, as long as everyone can learn from it, and by that turning mistakes into learning opportunities for all. Structure learning forums and you'll see how people strive for learning from each other and are very supportive.


#3 - Learning routine

Incorporate debrief-based learning routine into daily work, make it a second habit to debrief (good and bad), and not only when something (usually bad) happens.


I used it a lot in many aspects of product management life cycle, starting from customer meetings debrief, sprint retrospectives debriefs, demo meetings debriefs, roadmap meeting debriefs and so on. It helped to spread the knowledge across team members (R&D, product, marketing). The discussions made around failures contribute to the culture and also get out of the box ideas, that you alone, even if you learn from mistakes, couldn't think about.


My post (this one :)) also got publication in The Startup - entrepreneurship publication followed by +400,000 people: https://medium.com/swlh/achieving-product-management-excellence-in-challenging-startup-atmosphere-4fb4c270ccb5


Keep learning!

Dror


Home: Blog2
bottom of page